Brakes, Suspension

09lancer_GTS

Brakes, Suspension

Post by 09lancer_GTS »

Hey everyone im new to the racing events and im going to be doing some auto cross and hill climb racing and i want tlo find bembro brakes for my car and havent had any luck. And im trying to find good springs and suspension work for my car to lower it but no luck would like any advice i can get my car is a 09 Mitsubishi lancer GTS
Mopar 151

Re: Brakes, Suspension

Post by Mopar 151 »

Any particular reason why the stock brakes are bad? Generally speaking, stock brakes with high-performance pads, in good working order are more than adequate for hillclimb and autocross. Track days/events are another story, but even then, good pads suffice for many. 8-)
Best thing to do with your suspension is to establish a good baseline before changing everything! Check all the bushings, rod ends, bearings and suchlike for looseness or binding. Fix anything that is'nt right - including known weak spots. Dyno the shocks and rate the springs if possible (more of the :ugeek: baselinething), Scale and align the car. Record all settings and data!!!! Now you can work with tire pressures and temps to start dialing the car in! ;)
John and Michelle Reed
KSCC Life Member
NEHA # 151
sachilles

Post by sachilles »

I'd second the opinion on leaving it alone aside from finding a more aggressive brake pad. Adding a big brake kit may put you into a higher class(at least in autocross), with no real benefit.
Find a brake pad vendor that sells Hawk, Carbotech or EBC, and buy a set of those. In addition you may want to upgrade your brake fluid. Evolution.net may be able to help you find those vendors as well as a few other folks on this board that cater mitsu parts.
I think you'll find that tires will be your best investment for the stuff you want to do.
Sachilles
02 Subaru impreza (Donut) #66
sdwarf36

Post by sdwarf36 »