What to do

Challenger392
AntiSpam: No

What to do

Post by Challenger392 »

Hi All
Im new to this whole hillclimb buisness, I visited Ascutney 1 this year and watched from the start line for quite a while. previous commitments/ lack of time kept me from being able to volunteer on the day that I was there. I am planning on attending Ascutney 2 in september and helping out wherever I can, as well as learning alot more about hilclimbing in general. I am really exited about the opportunity of racing so close to home (I live about 30 minutes from Philo). My original intent was to race my 2007 Ducati 1098 but promptly decided that would result in my untimely death. My next options for a racing machine are either my 2012 Challenger 392 or my classic 1972 Challenger 318, the problem with either of those options is that they are both worth alot of money and are my babies. I dont really want them all smashed up. Another option which is maybe a little more promising is an old aluminum bodied homebuilt racing gokart with slick tires and an 8 hp honda engine. The only thing with that setup is that im not sure if a Gokart even remotely qualifies as a legal entrant as its not even a real car, it home built out of aluminum. I have a project going curently that is in the very initial stages and wont be done for a good long time as I live in an appartment away from my work shop. I would rather not have to buy an other car specifically for hillclimbing as I have too many already. Im looking for thoughts and opinions on all this. I really want to get into racing but my budget is small (just spent it all on the new Challenger). Would the gokart be a viable option? Maybe try it out on a short course like Philo. Ive toyed with the idea of racing the 1972 Challenger, I keep going back and forth between, you only live once so go for it, and its a historic vehicle dont touch it. sorry for my rambling, as you can tell im kind of exited, and may have had too much coffee late at night